This Sunday morning I decided to be experimental.  I keep seeing bloggers talking about making their own condiments, sure I have followed recipes for dinner and have been creative with my own instant oatmeal, but I haven’t gone as far as to make my own ketchups and peanut butters yet.  I decided to step up to the plate and give it a try; I was going to make my own butter. This seemed to be pretty easy, and buying butter can get expensive! The only ingredient was cream and all I had to do was shake, couldn’t be that hard, right?  I got the idea for doing this from a woman who posted about her experience with making her own butter.  It didn’t provide me with much information about what type of cream to use, was there anything more to this or did all I really have to do is shake?  So I googled another recipe, a little bit more detailed but still the basics, add cream to a jar and shake shake shake!

Well… it certainly couldn’t have been any more straight forward, I poured the heavy whipping cream into the jar and I began to shake.

10 minutes: the liquid began to thicken but was certainly still liquid.

photo

15 minutes: a fluffy whipped cream like heavy whipping cream.  I was thinking is this it? Did I do it! But then I kept shaking.

photo

20 minutes: the consistency changed from smooth whipped cream like substance to cottage cheese looking clumps the substance was getting much thicker now

photo

25 minutes: we’ve got butter!! It really happened the butter and the buttermilk separated right before my eyes.  As I was shaking I could feel the substance change from one hard clump to a much smaller clump and the liquid buttermilk began to flow.  I opened up the jar poured out the buttermilk into a separate jar and was left with pure fresh butter.

photo

photo

photo

I really can’t believe it that I made my own butter.  I went into this with my doubts.  Sure, it sounded easy but I don’t know was I really going to be able to make my own butter?  A WARNING the shaking was tough, after the first couple of minutes I was basically over it and ready to quit but as I could feel the consistency in the jar change I was motivated and it was really neat to watch! I would also suggest watching TV or having a conversation while shaking the cream.  I put on my favorite 30 minute television show (modern family) and by the time the show was over I had my own homemade butter.

The taste of this butter is SO fresh! I have never tasted homemade butter, you really can taste the difference, it’s not loaded with salts or sugars as it is when you buy it from the stores. I can’t wait to spread it on some bread in the morning for breakfast.  Perks of this process was that first it was really cool as well as that container of cream was $2.  I only used half of the container incase I messed up I would have more to try with, but if I had used the whole thing I would have had a decent amount of butter.  Sure the shaking may take time but the taste is definitely worth it!

Now that I have had success with my first homemade condiment I want to make more.  I got the idea for the butter, under the DIY Ingredients and How-to section of this blog.  There are so many options.  I am thinking ketchup next, as I know how loaded with sugar ketchup can be.

