I have really enjoyed the cooking aspect of this diet.  I thought it was going to stress me out with finals and the end of the semester approaching, having to take more time to plan meals and actually cook instead of just eating cereal for 2 out of my 3 meals for the day as I used to do.  It has been a pleasant surprise to me though, that coming home after a long day of class or hospital observations that I really enjoy cooking dinner.  It is like a set aside hour to unwind and free my mind from school work and worrying, where I just turn on some music or the TV and prepare and cook dinner.  I try to stick to recipes that either make a lot so I can have leftovers on busier days, or recipes that aren’t to elaborate and take too long.  If it takes me over and hour and a half then I begin to stress again.  I made stuffed peppers this week.  They were so easy to make and required about 15 minutes of preparation time and the rest was just baking them in the oven.  I was able to get an entire chapter read while they were cooking!

I made a few changes to the recipe as I thought they were healthier and fresher options:

–       I used a frozen bag of organic steam fresh corn instead of a can

–       I used fresh tomatoes instead of a can of diced tomatoes

–       I did not include the cheese topping (this was hard for me but I decided to be good and not use cheese)

Here was the recipe that I followed otherwise. 

Preparation

Preparation

hollowing the peppers

hollowing the peppers

The finished product

The finished product

I decided to do some research on quinoa.  Quinoa is not new to my diet my parents have been eating it for years, and I really love the taste of it.  I especially like the rainbow quinoa that has the brown quinoa mixed into it, which really provides a nice satisfactory crunchy factor.  I have heard the rumors and peoples opinions about quinoa being so healthy but I never took the time myself to research what actually makes it healthy.  Here is an article with a list of 7 reasons why it is so healthy, incase the first reason isn’t reason enough to introduce it into your diet read on through the rest of the list and you will be convinced!  Reason 1: Quinoa is one of the most protein-rich foods we can eat.  It is a complete protein containing all nine essential amino acids.

I like to use quinoa as a substitute for rice as well as pasta, it really is the multipurpose good for you food.  Also, at costco you can get a 4 pound bag which will last a very long time, as you usually only cook a cup at a time, for $9.50! You can’t beat that price.

