Living in Boulder doesn’t necessarily make this diet easier, however, it makes access to the necessary foods and items easier.  We have an abundance of different organic, local, health food stores all within 10 minutes of each other.  As well as places like great harvest and others that bake fresh bread and serve organic foods.  It really is nice to live in a community with other health conscious people.  One of my favorite things in Boulder is the farmers market.  I love that you are eating locally and supporting your local farmers all while buying vegetables and fruits that have more nutritional value because they haven’t been tampered with so that they can travel for days across the country or from another country to get to you.

Unfortunately this is not farmers market season right now, but when it comes back I will know how to shop at a farmers market like a pro thanks to this article on ten tips for shopping at the farmers market. It offers up great ideas like to go toward the end of the market when venders are willing to lower the prices on things, and to commit to one farmers market only meal a week.  An important thing that was brought up was to choose fruits and vegetables that are seasonal, and to limit your recipes for the week based on what is in season. In grocery stores now and days nothing is seasonal anymore.  Berries are in the markets all year long, even though they certainly can not be grown in the winter, they are being flown in from other places.  This is just an example but so much produce in the stores now is constantly there.  Produce doesn’t change with the seasons anymore, it’s as if there are no seasons and everything can just be grown all of the time.

My family has an apartment in Boston because my dad works in the city during the week and then travels home to New Jersey on the weekends.  Now that my brother and I are older my mom goes up to the apartment more and my parents really enjoy it.  Living in a city can be very hard for grocery shopping however.  My dad found out that every weekend a few blocks from the apartment farmers from all over Massachusetts come in and set up a market with prices that can not be beat!  I got to experience this for the first time a few months ago when I was there in the summer.  I am looking to go to graduate school in Boston and live in the apartment. Knowing about this farmers market will certainly make eating healthy and at a good price much more doable for me.  Here are some pictures from the market, check out some of the price tags!

market

Market

Market

Market

