Goodbye Junk!

Goodbye Junk!

After making my educated decision to follow through with this idea of making the change to eating unrefined I woke up this morning excited to start my new lifestyle, but I realized I didn’t know what I needed to do first, or where to start. I know that a diet of eating potato chips and canned foods and such is obviously not healthy but that is not how I eat.  However, I certainly do not eat a strictly unrefined diet, so what am I going to have to change? I came across a very simple list that finely separates what you should eat and what you shouldn’t on another blog, when trying to eat unrefined.  I have a feeling this list of what to eat is going to be very helpful to me. It includes items such as; locally raised meats, wild caught fish, organic fruits and vegetables and whole foods that are more a product of nature than a product of industry.

With a better understanding of what I am now going to be eating and what I need to change about what I was eating I was ready to face this challenge, cleaning out my pantry.  I learned what to do when cleaning out my pantry from this post. My first thing to tackle was anything that listed high fructose corn syrup in the ingredients.  Then I was on to any artificial ingredients, instant rices or meals, pre made sauces, cans of fruits or vegetables, and the daunting bags of refined flour and sugar.

I think of myself as a pretty healthy eater but I guess I never realized that there are certain things that you resort to buying that can be easily made by yourself and don’t have the unhealthy side effects to them.  Cleaning my pantry out was a really eye opening experience as to what I was getting myself into, especially with being a student.  I don’t have time to make homemade tomato sauce. Sure it tastes better and is healthier when made yourself, but am I really going to come home from a day of class and whip up some tomato sauce.  I guess I will cross those hurdles when I get there, today was just about cleaning out the old and preparing for the new.  I made some great progress and didn’t even feel scared as I was getting rid of all of these items that have been used so regularly in my life for the past 20 years.  I think I am still in the excited stage, I am sure the cravings will kick in at a later time.

